• See the Forest, See the Trees

    • Release Date: May 14, 2013

      1. Pieces of My Map
      2. To the Manner Born
      3. Tar Baby
      4. Rabbiting Fox
      5. Pitch Thick
      6. Disposition

      Download the liner notes.
      Design by Bryce Dishongh.

      Even when life feels like it is at a complete standstill, it is inevitably changing. The currents whirl, gravity pulls, and the seasons come and go. With “See the Forest, See the Trees,” there was a fundamental shift in both mindset and lineup for Kazyak, which marked a new beginning. The mindset shift can best be described as no longer fighting the natural forces mentioned above, and instead, learning to move with them. The idea has become less about success versus failure, and more about merely existing. With this, Kazyak has been born into color.

      When the band stopped touring in April 2011, with no clear path forward, Frey described feeling like the rabbit in the Tar Baby folktale. In the story, the fox lures the rabbit into a trap he has conceived, consisting of a fake baby made of tar. When the rabbit comes into contact with the baby and fights to escape, the more ensnared he becomes – an impossible problem.

      In the winter of 2011, in an attempt to find comfort in the discomfort, Frey created these songs in the Great Room of his childhood home. Overlooking the snowy oaks and icy pond in the backyard was the perfect setting to slow down enough to catch up with himself. Frey was learning to make music in a new way, while unconsciously laying the groundwork for a personal renaissance. The sounds of winter experimentalism are consolidated into the 6 song EP “See the Forest, See the Trees,” a subversive take on the Tar Baby story. The music and narrative are about isolation, expression, recovery and patience. They are about the realization that there are no opposites, but only complimentary parts to a whole. The music is colorful, song-driven alternative folk. 

      The EP’s title is a variation on the old adage of “not seeing the forest for the trees.” With this new album, Frey strived to simultaneously mind the finer details and the big picture. This commanding slice of wisdom not only solves the Tar Baby riddle, it also leaves the door open for whatever comes next. The album was recorded by audio engineer and drummer Brett Bullion (Tarlton, Zoo Animal, Dark Dark Dark) and mastered by Huntley Miller. Other sounds were provided by bassist Jeff Sundquist (Tungsten, Chastity Brown, Hildur Victoria), banjo player Justin Lansing (Okee Dokee Brothers), and string players Becky Gaunt (violin) and Greg Byers (cello).
  • Rorrimirror

    • Release Date: unreleased

      1. Intro
      2. Monkeys
      3. Nightwatchmen
      4. Trig & Slevko
      5. The Canopy
      6. Franklin
      7. The Quest
      8. The Watchtower
      9. Elephant Renaissance
      10. Top Shelf Kiwi

      Rorrimirror is a storybook album we wrote while living in Austin, TX. It’s not made specifically for either children or adults. It’s for those who love adventure coupled with visual music — like Kazyak. To be quite honest, this album is everything we like and nothing we don’t. You could say we’re not making this album for anyone else but us. Essentially, it is a tribute to our favorite adventure stories that we have loved in many forms: Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, Alice in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz, and so on. We drew heavily upon those ideas and combined them with our own adventure experiences, characters, and musical creations.

      The album is about two boys named Trig & Slevko who stumble upon the magical land of Rorrimirror. It’s a mirrored plane of existence where fancy things like talking animals and magical fruit live. Together Trig and Slevko save the monkeys from the evil curse of the lemurs. The story is told by the musical score, lyrical content, narrative, as well as a small booklet of art that accompanies the album. We’ve been working with an illustrator, two calligraphers and several digital layout folks to help with the visual portion of the project.

      -Jed Anderson
  • A Beautiful Bronotsaurus

    • Release Date: September 9, 2010

      1. Join the Band
      2. Now I Know
      3. Cactus
      4. Cochino
      5. Mean Egg Jed
      6. Russian Dragon
      7. Don't Let's Be Silly
      8. Strange
      9. Daisy May's Days
      10. Sharks & Whales
      11. Brontosaurus

      A Beautiful Brontosaurus brings all the energy of Kazyak's live shows, bottles it up, and blasts it out of your speakers in a neon-green swarm of notes. The quartet instrumentation (guitar, piano, bass, drums) is epic, but the highlight is the vocals. Peter, Danny and Jed have obviously been playing together for a long time, and it shows. The harmonies are tight and well structured. On songs like "Now I Know" and "Sharks and Whales," the vocal harmonies are strong, engaging, and perfectly balanced.

      There's a good mix of tone and tempo. There are playful and compositionally intricate songs like "Cochino," with its Spanish hook and spaced-out electric guitar, and there are more laid-back story driven songs like "Cactus," which a sublime Western fairytale.

      The mood to, varies enough to keep things fresh and engaging. Songs like "Mean Egg Jed" are pure, unadulterated whimsy and outrageous fun wrapped in an uptempo bluegrass case. Compare and contrast to "Daisy May's Days," an almost wistful meditation on age and wisdom backed up by beautiful vocal harmonies and punctuated by a triumphant guitar that won't go quaintly.

      If there's a standout song, it's "Rushing Dragon." It's got all the elements — tight vocals, lyrical content that's clever and literate, a bass line that pops and gets in your face at all the right moments, and a chorus with a catchy hook. If you need an introduction to the band, make it this song.

      -Indy Zoeller